Raw Pad Thai with Almond Sauce

Hello all!

It has been a very busy summer! I like to call our little condo the Blanco B&B because we had 10 family members stay with us within the last 3 weeks. Our doors are always open but I think we’ll be closing this week to re-energize ourselves =). We enjoyed every minute and hope our guests are now enticed to move to Vancouver, the more the merrier.

Just as when I go to my hometown Winnipeg, clean and healthy eating is not always an option. It is my time to indulge and nourish myself with the company of family and friends. I started each day with a kale and spinach smoothie knowing fully I would need something to balance all the goodness I was going ingest later on in the day. My inner foodie came out and I managed to try many local restaurants on my ‘to-eat’ list.

From locally made veggie bratwursts, bourbon bacon doughnuts, a simple grilled cheese sandwich, a homemade lemon sorbetto, ferrero rocher bubble tea, classic ihop breakfast, traditional homemade Filipino food, the most buttery croissant to duck fat deep fried little ducker doughnuts – yes, you read correctly. I had it all and more. How am I feeling? Not bloated, not heavy and especially no guilt. I felt a lot of joy and happiness trying all these foods. Being able to share that experience with loved ones filled my belly even more.

IMG_20130619_140813

IMG_20130621_161738

IMG_20130619_134005

IMG_20130621_135326

IMG_3232

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not only was I able to spend time with family, friends; eat a lot of goodness I was also able to share some health tips to everyone. So for any other family members looking to stay at the Blanco B&B get ready to have green smoothies, wheatgrass shots, flourless cookies, buckwheat waffles, homemade chocolate, kale salads and a whole bunch of foods you have never tried before.

Screenshot_2013-07-11-08-58-21-1

Screenshot_2013-07-11-08-58-06-1

To get myself back on track I started off with a Raw Pad Thai recipe. I have been very curious about the raw diet – as I made a raw hemp burger a few posts earlier. This recipe was created from a few different sources, kind of adapted from a staple soba noodle dish I make and whatever I had in my fridge at the time. Feel free to change it up and experiment as you go. The next time I make this I will definitely add some sprouts.

IMG_20130709_201449
Raw Pad Thai

Ingredients:
1 zucchini spiraled
2 carrots, cut into matchsticks
1 red pepper, thinly sliced
1 c. sliced red cabbage
¾ cup frozen edamame, thawed
3 green onions, sliced
1 Tbsp hemp seeds
1 Tbsp Sesame seeds
Fresh Cilantro

Dressing:
1/3 c. almond butter
2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce (I Bragg’s Soy Aminos)
2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 Tbsp honey or agave syrup
½ Tbsp sesame oil
1 inch piece fresh ginger, grated
¼ tsp red pepper flakes
Juice of ½ Lime

Directions:
1. Add zucchini, carrots, pepper and cabbage into bowl and toss.
2. In bowl, whisk together dressing
3. Top with remaining ingredients: edamame, green onion, hemp seeds, sesame seeds and cilantro. Pour on dressing and start eating!

** For those who do not have a spiraler you can cut the zucchini into matchsticks as well. Or try to find a julienne peeler it’ll save you some time cutting.

Alternative recipe: For those not wanting a raw salad I normally use this dressing with cooked soba noodles. Add choice of veggies or use the same as above, stir fry a bit and toss it all together.
you can cut the zucchini into matchsticks as well. Or try to find a julienne peeler it’ll save you some time cutting.

Alternative recipe: For those not wanting a raw salad I normally use this dressing with cooked soba noodles. Add choice of veggies or use the same as above, stir fry a bit and toss it all together.

Leave a Reply

