Keepin’ it Raw…at least tried to!

So much for weekly/monthly blog posts. These past few weeks have been a struggle for me and I have been experiencing some ups and downs. One week I can feel amazing, energized and motivated the following week exhausted, un-active and blah. When I look back it all boils down to what foods I am nourishing my body with. If only all my weeks could look like this….

IMG_20130601_222613

IMG_20130528_214853

IMG_20130507_230600

IMG_20130506_083551

IMG_20130503_144605

IMG_20130430_194200

Pictured above: Melted Maca & coconut oil drops topped with trail mix; dairy-free coconut ice cream between quinoa & cacao paste cookies; leek, asparagus, oregano, lemon & quinoa salad; green tea soba noodles with tomatoes, basil & swiss chard, lentil burgers topped with pineapple salsa and beautiful looking dragonfruit.

I thought my juice fast was a success so a few weeks ago I decided to experience my own version of the Master Cleanse. My husband was going out of town for a basketball tournament so it was perfect timing to try it out – less temptation & I didn’t have to cook. I say ‘my version’ because reading about the salt water flush was not my idea of fun. I drank the lemon juice, maple syrup and cayenne pepper concoction for 3 days but also had either a small salad or Vega smoothie if need be. Surprisingly, I was not hungry and did not experience any healing reactions. As in my juice fast, I felt as though I had more energy. I continued my morning runs, went to work – did everything as normal. This time I just felt since I wasn’t in the kitchen preparing meals, going grocery shopping or meal planning – I had a lot of time on my hands. Giving my digestion a break is definitely something that my body needs. Going on these cleanses and fasts allows for my organs to take a rest and reminds me what ‘healthy’ really feels like.

As a nutritionist I have blogged about mindful chewing, presented to schools about the importance of digestion and is the first tip I share with clients yet I easily forget to practice it. Lately, I have been trying to focus on each bite and be more conscious, but it’s hard and we all know no one is perfect.

After my amazing master cleanse experience I decided to try out some raw food recipes. I felt I was on a roll so why not incorporate easily digestible foods. I made a walnut and hemp burger that literally took 10 minutes to make and treated myself to homemade raw banana creme pie. Both recipes are below. I was inspired and motivated to experience a raw food diet that I went out and purchased some cook books and a spiraler to make vegetable noodles. Am I crazy or just a health nut?

And then the weekend came – husband was back in town and I had a few parties to attend to. My willpower was thrown out the window and I had one too many indulgences and one too many glasses of wine. Let’s just say I felt as though my body was detoxing for an entire 2 weeks. Those 2 weeks were a struggle. Instead of waking up before my 6:30am alarm I was peeling myself out of bed at 8am, I opted for coffee to just get me through the day and the healthier food options were not appealing. I was in a rut and it felt impossible to get out. How could I be feeling like this when only the week before I was energized. This just goes to show how food really affects one’s performance, mood, energy levels, well-being – everything.

It has taken me a while but I feel as though I have finally recovered from that weekend and am slowing climbing out of that rut. Everyone has ups and downs. It’s about being aware when you’re in that rut and trying your hardest to get out and get back on track. So for those who fell off the wagon, take it from me a Nutritionist – it happens. Just get back on and try again! If your in a rut take 10 minutes and prepare a Raw Walnut Hemp burger to get you back on track. And if your really motivated make a Raw Banana Creme Pie! Enjoy!

Raw Walnut Hemp Burger
(Recipe from Brendan Brazier)
IMG_20130529_210520

1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup hemp seeds
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 Tbsp coconut oil
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp oregano
salt to taste

Put all ingredients into a food processor. Process until well blended. Process less if you prefer a coarser texture. Form into 2 patties.

Serve raw or pan fry in a little coconut oil, flipping once.

I topped my Raw Burger with a simple Black Bean & Avocado Salsa.

Raw Banana Creme Pie
IMG_20130520_192330
Crust
1 cup fresh or soaked dried dates
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup ground flaxseed
1/2 cup hemp flour
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1 Tbsp grated fresh ginger
1 tsp fresh lemon juice

Filling
2 Bananas
1 pear
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup macadamia nuts
1/4 cup hemp flour
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1 Tbsp grated fresh ginger
1/2 tsp salt

Make crust by putting all ingredients in a food processor and processing until doughlike. Remove and spread out onto a pie plate, pack down.

Put all filling ingredients into food processor and process until creamy. Spread out evenly in pie crust.

Refrigerate until cool and firm, about 60 minutes.

Hope you enjoyed reading my blog post. I am really enjoying all the emails and feedback I am receiving so please keep em coming!

Sherisse

Leave a Reply

