Raw Macarons

IMG_0975Two years ago I traveled to Paris and had my first taste of the delicate, melt in your mouth Macarons. To be honest I never even knew they existed until you are bombarded with them everywhere you go. I quickly learned Laduree is the known inventor of the double-decker macaron and they were in Paris, just my luck. I recall stepping into Laduree and if you’ve ever watched the Sienfield soup nazi episode – that was exactly how I felt. First off we were not allowed to take pictures inside. Although being the little rebel I am, I snapped a few shots..haha. They had luxury cakes, pastries and an array of macarons in many different colors and flavors, it was a sight to see. You stood in a long line trying to absorb your surroundings and before you know it you were being asked what you wanted. There was so many to choose from, it was a bit overwhelming.

Since my trip to Paris I have noticed the popularity of macarons grow in Canada. Macarons are literally everywhere. With that in mind, now every Macaron I try does not live up to my first experience with one of the best known makers of macarons in the world. I’ll have to keep on searching or better yet head back to Paris!

IMG_0981IMG_0980

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although I have not found a macaron that lives up to Laduree I must say anyone who can make them – you are truly an artist. I have never attempted to make them myself but I do hear that those little, delicate, delicious treats are very temperamental. So since I am not a baker I will leave that to the experts while I try putting a healthy twist on them. I came across a recipe for Raw Macarons from http://g0lubka.blogspot.ca/ and I just had to try them! For an even healthier twist I used Vega One All-in-One Nutritional Shake to add some nutritional value and for the chocolate flavor. Vega One is plant-based, dairy, gluten and soy free protein shake. It has no added sugar and is full of vitamins, minerals, protein, fibre, omega-3, antioxidants, probiotics and greens in each serving.

20130419_144653

 

Matcha Macarons

1 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1/2 tablespoon matcha powder
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1/4 cup raw agave syrup
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

 

 

 

20130419_200016

 

Chocolate Macarons
1 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
5 teaspoons VegaOne – Chocolate flavor
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1/4 cup raw agave syrup
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

 

 

 

Note: Make each flavor separately following the same instructions below.

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor until mixed thoroughly. Spread evenly on Teflex-lined dehydrator trays. Using a small cup or shot glass, cut circular shapes out of the “dough”. Reform the dough that remains from the circles and cut out again. The dough may be a little crumbly for the task, but it will stick together nicely after dehydration. Dehydrate at 115F for around 8 hours or less, until dry on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside.

Macaron Cream
Use coconut butter for the base of the cream. Allow the coconut butter to soften. In separate bowls, mix the coconut butter with a bit of VegaOne chocolate and with matcha powder to achieve desired colors. Add a spoonful as your filling in raw macarons!

20130419_195801

3 thoughts on “Raw Macarons

    • Hi Rosalyn – You can use your oven or toaster oven on the lowest setting and prop the door open. The macarons won’t be completely raw but apparently it works. Although I’m not sure how long it takes. You’ll just have to keep an eye on it.

      Also, if you don’t have Maca or want to use Vega powder you can puree fruit and use that instead.

Leave a Reply

