A bit of everything

Hello Everyone! I hope that I have not confused everyone with my blog name change. I tried to be a little creative and change it but now I have two blogs and I am not sure if links get automatically changed. Anyways, if you are reading this, that means I did not lose you and I’m probably not that bad at teaching myself how to use WordPress. If for some reason I messed everything up please update your bookmarks.

Since I have ownership of my previous blog name I decided to keep it and post things unrelated to health, nutrition & recipes. So for those interested in my random posts please follow Happiness is…

20130414_103559So what is new with me? I have been choosing to eat mostly plant-based and vegetarian meals approximately 80-90% of the time. Wild Atlantic salmon and Organic Free Range eggs have been introduced back into my diet about 1-2 times a week. I completed a 2-day juice fast. I am running outdoors 2-3 times a week. My husband and I experienced a Turkish bath house. Had a relaxing weekend getaway in Seattle and enjoyed some amazing food that I will tryto re-create. Whew, that was a lot.

2-day Juice FastIMG_20130126_090650
By far this has to be one of my accomplishments. In previous blog posts I mentioned I have always wanted to do a juice fast but feared the healing reactions: headaches, weakness, increased bowel movements, etc; that you normally hear and read about. Also, I wondered how my body would react without food – would the yin/yang principle apply and push me to indulge in everything. The result was, none of the above. I felt energized with a clear mind and nourished. I was feeling so amazing that I planned on extending it to a 3-day fast however the laziness sunk in knowing I would have to make a trip to the grocers and actually juice.

IMG_20130408_085211I bow down to anyone who does a juice fast especially those 10-day or 30-day fasts. You must feel amazing after. After only 2-days the thought of actually juicing was not pleasant – although if someone juiced for me I know I would have been able to go longer. My experience may be different than others so I suggest you do not take my word for it if you were to do a juice fast. And remember to slowly start introducing solid foods back into your diet. I had Vega One Nutritional shake smoothies and homemade broth soups for the following days after my fast.

I followed the Suja juice recipes (below), created my own and purchased made to order juices at Booster juice to help me with the fast.

Glow – apples, celery, cucumber, spinach, collard leaves, kale & mint
Fuel – carrots, orange, apples, pineapple, lemon & tumeric
Purify – carrots, apples, celery, cucumbers, beets & lemons
Fiji – apples, celery, cucumber, spinach, collard greens, kale, lemon & ginger
Green Supreme – apples, kale & lemon
Vanilla Cloud – coconut meat, honey, almonds, cinnamon, vanilla & nutmeg

Exercise
IMG_20130416_100440If you were to ask me a year ago if I enjoyed running the answer would be – “hate it.” It is amazing how much you can change if you stick with it or simply just try. I am not the fastest runner but the fact that I peel myself out of bed rain or shine and hit the pavement is something to smile about. For anyone who hates running, or ever felt exhausted after 3 minutes of running I encourage you to keep going – it gets better, trust me. There’s a running program called Couch to 5k that literally helped me achieve that. Do a quick Google search and you will be on your way.

To me, running helps me clear my mind; allows for many deep breaths of fresh air and connects me to nature. It is very healing.

Turkish Spa
My husband and I finally took the time to use a gift certificate that was given to us on our wedding. A Turkish spa is a series of relaxing dry and wet heat experiences paired with icy cold pool plunges to produce circulatory, mental and physical benefits. There was the 200+ degree sauna, 113 degree eucalyptus scented steam room, salt water pool, ice cold plunge and the hot water whirlpool. Our experience was very relaxing, detoxifying and much needed.

And finally to end off an amazing couple of weeks. Here’s a recipe I tried for Cacao Coconut Ganache Tarts. I tried to be a little create and made one tart with a Coconut Flour & Almond Crust. Enjoy!
IMG_20130410_183003

Leave a Reply

