Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Pancakes

I did not have to be at work til 11am so I decided to take the time to make pancakes for breakfast. Traditional pancakes are made with butter and sugar but to make them a bit healthier I made them without butter or sugar and used Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter because I spread that on everything – and I mean everything. It is that good!

Healthy Pancakes

What you will need:
1 ripe banana
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg
½ tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp almond butter
1 Tbsp coconut oil
3 Tbsp almond milk
½ cup rolled oats
¼ cup coconut flour
2 Tbsp semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:
In mixing bowl mash banana and add the baking powder. Add egg, coconut oil, vanilla extract, almond butter, almond milk and stir. Stir in oats and flour until just combined then sprinkle in chocolate chips and fold gently. Measure out approximately ¼ cup of batter onto greased pan and cook for 2-4 minutes on each side.

Verdict: They are not as soft as traditional pancakes due to the rolled oats. They are not bad, I just have to get used to the texture. Either way it was a great way to start off my day with a nutritious breakfast without the guilt. I would make them again on mornings I get to sleep in. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Pancakes

Leave a Reply

